Home

Someone said that I was extinct. Gone the way of the dodo, my breed and I. To that I say…Eh. Everything becomes obsolete. What I’m talking about is this article I read a while back. I’m not surprised. Before I even took up the mantle to become an English major. I knew that the odds of me being able to speak my major’s name out loud without someone asking the inevitable questions “So what are you going to do with that?” or “Oh, so you’re going to be a teacher?” would be very, extremely, slim. In essence the world became my mother.

The Humanities are a dying species. Or so everyone believes. The truth of the matter is, graduates want money. They want their life choices to be validated, and they want it now. With the Humanities most people see the only route towards a sustainable economic future is to put education at the end of our specialties. Art education, History education, English education, etc.

I’m not knocking our aspiring educators, but some of us want to apply what we learn and not just teach it to other people.  My life plan…my vague foggy ramshackle life plan will probably have some detours into education. Hell it may take a permanent siesta there because odds are, I won’t succeed at this writing thing and that is just about as honest as I can be with myself.

The problem lies in everyone being that honest with themselves and others who have those dreams of being able to apply what they know and love to do, and still receive that validation and economic security.

Somewhere along the maturation scale it became impractical to dream. At a young age they teach you the rhetoric of America. Land of the Free, Home of the Brave, and the Land of Opportunities. You mix that rhetoric in with our first career aspirations of being monarchical despots and super powerful sociopaths via princesses and superheroes respectively; and our first assurances from our parents that we can be President someday, and what you should have is a nation of filled with starry eyed dreamers all in career paths that bring them absolute happiness.

Did you go to work today? How was it? Exactly.

So now as an “adult,” I’m expected embrace reality; which entails having to rewrite programming that I didn’t even know was defective. Becoming a professional writer….I don’t even know where to start, but I want to wander around and dig through the debris of my other tossed away dreams to see if I can build some happiness that isn’t riddled with resentment and unhappy compromises.

(I wanted to be Sailor Moon, she was a princess and a superhero)

Don’t get me wrong though. I don’t want you to think that this is a post admonishing you for abandoning the humanities in the pursuit of money. Quite the opposite. I completely understand that security is better than vagaries almost any day of the week. Knowing where your next meal is coming from is pretty much a must for most Americans. I just want to make you aware that, not all of us have teaching as our endgame. So to my few existing brethren of future unemployed lines and Starbucks across the country, I say keep on keeping on. Statistically some of us will make it. Why can’t it be you?

J.R.H.

2 thoughts on “Anglicanosaurus

  1. Fret not, employment numbers for English Students aren’t actually worse than for everyone else. As long as you are good at what you do, you will do ok. Do not let doubting your vocation interfere with fulfilling it to your best ability.

Leave a Reply

